Filipe Toledo Wins Corona Open J – Bay Event


Filipe Toledo, Brazil has won The Corona Open at J – Bay in South Africa after besting 2017 World Championship Tour Rookie Frederico Morais from Portugal, in the Final.

The Corona J – Bay Open Event was graced with flawless conditions resulting in record breaking performances by the worlds best contest surfers, with eight perfect 10 point rides in this contest and no shortage of dramas. Toledo was responsible for two of these perfect 10 point scores and showcased a new level to his approach and was rewarded with a boost from 14th position to number 7 on the World Surf League Jeep Leaderboard. The victory in South Africa also marks the Brazilian’s best finish of the current season to reboot his 2017 World Title Campaign.

Corona Open J-Bay

Toledo’s fourth World Championship Tour victory did not come easy as a stacked field of competitors put the 22 year old to task in each round. Toledo previously dispatched of local favourite Jordy Smith, South Africa in the Quarter Finals with two impressive 9 point rides and then eliminated Julian Wilson of Australia in the Semi Finals.

Corona Open J-Bay

Corona Open J-Bay

The intense Final saw exciting exchanges between Toledo and Monais. The two progressive challengers continued to deliver excellent range scores in front of the J – Bay crowd, both escaping big barrels and unleashing big carves. With ten minutes left on the clock, another set provided both surfers an opportunity to improve their scores. Morais locked in a near perfect score of 9.40 to close the gap to just 0.27 points on Toledo’s 18.00 two wave total, Toledo attempted to improve his scoreline, but left priority with Morais for the remaining two minutes of the heat, Morais was not able to meet the requirements to give Filipe Toledo the win.

Corona Open J-Bay

The 2017 Corona Open J – Bay, South Africa, Final Result.

Filipe Toledo, Brazil, 18.00 points.


Frederico Morais, Portugal, 17.73 points.

The next stop on the Men’s World Surf League Tour will be The Billabong Pro from Tahiti on August 11th – August 22nd, 2017. The Women’s next event will be at The Vans US Open in California, USA from July 31st – August 6th, 2017.

World Surf League 2017 – Men’s Jeep LeaderBoard – After Corona Open, J – Bay.

1. Matt Wilkinson, Australia, 31,950 points.

2. John John Florence, Hawaii, 31,700 points.

3. Jordy Smith, South Africa, 31,350 points.

4. Owen Wright, Australia, 30,150 points.

5. Adriano de Souza, Brazil, 27, 900 points.

For further news and information visit World Surf League.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s