The Worlds Big Wave Surfers Honoured At World Surf League 2016 – 2017 Awards Night

Billy Kemper 3_mm

The World’s Best Big Wave Surfers gathered in Huntington Beach, California this week for the 2017 World Surf League – Big Wave Awards. The gala ceremony at The Pasea Hotel & Spa awarded the greatest rides of the past year and celebrated the new World Champions of the big wave community. This year saw $350,000 in prize money divided among seven categories ranging from the greatest tuberides to the biggest wipeouts.

Some Of The 2017 World Surf League Big Wave Winners Are.

2016 / 2017 World Surf League Men’s Big Wave Tour Winner – Grant Baker.

2016 / 2017 World Surf League Women’s Big Wave Tour Winner – Paige Alms.

The Billabong Ride Of The Year – Billy Kemper.

The Biggest Wave Paddle Award – Ben Andrews.

Men’s Overall Performance Award – Jamie Mitchell.

Women’s Best Overall Performance Award – Paige Alms.

Tag Heuer XXL Biggest Wave Award – Francisco Porcella

Photography By Bruno Aleixo.

Tag Heur Wipeout Of The Year Award – Wilem Banks

Photography By Curt Myers.

Tube Of The Year Award – Shanan Worrall

Photography By Jamie Scott.

Shanan Worrall (2)

BWA17_Tube_Winner_WorrallRightScott (1)

Francisco Porcella



The featured photographs include World Surf League – Best Tube with Shanan Worrell by Jamie Scott at The Right in Western Australia and World Surf League -Biggest Wave with Francisco Porcella by Bruno Alexio in Portugal.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s